Friday, March 30, 2018

YA Pick of the Week: The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unseen, both in her family and at school. Ever since she's grown curves, she has had to be fierce. One Christmas, her twin gets her a bound notebook as a gift, thinking that she needs to find somewhere to put her words.

So, Xiomara begins to write poetry, almost without thinking, and is invited to join the slam team (something her mother will never let her do--will she?).

This book, which is told almost entirely in free-verse is a really clear portrait of a girl trying to find her place in the world. It's a fast read, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Sonya Sones, and Jason Reynolds.

No comments:

Post a Comment